Getting Your Property Back
To claim property, you must make an appointment with 24 hours’ notice with the evidence technician. Appointments can be made by contacting this office at 503-325-8635 between the hours of 9:00 AM and 4:30 PM on Monday through Friday. You must bring identification to receive the property. Acceptable form of identification would be a driver's license or other state issued identification card.
Items that are illegal to possess cannot be returned. Anyone claiming a firearm must pass a criminal background check.
Property Seized as Evidence
If your property was seized in the course of a criminal investigation, you will be required to wait until the case is concluded in court and the District Attorney authorizes its release before we can return it to you. The District Attorney usually waits 90 days after sentencing to approve the release of evidence. Once we receive authorization from the District Attorney, we will contact you to arrange the release of the proptery to you.
If there is a co-defendant waiting trial, or an appeal has been filed in the case, the property cannot be released.
The Sheriff’s Office receives and processes found property brought in by citizens or retrieved by deputies. If you have lost property within Clatsop County and think we may have it, call the evidence technician at (503) 325-8635 during business hours. Found property that is unclaimed after 90 days may be disposed of pursuant to Oregon law.
Finders of property may be eligible to file a finder’s claim under ORS 98.005:
If the found property is valued at $250 or more, the finder must also complete the process required by ORS 98.005 and meet those deadlines.
*Note: We are unable to provide legal advice. If you have further questions, please contact legal counsel.
If property was seized as part of a criminal case and it is identified as stolen property, we make every attempt to identify and contact the owners/victims. If you are the victim of a burglary or other crime and think we may have your property, contact the evidence technician at (503) 325-8635.
The Clatsop County Sheriff’s Office periodically runs legal notices in The Astorian listing property that is unclaimed and names of persons who have unclaimed property in our possession. We also post these notices on our Facebook page, the Clatsop County web site (www.co.clatsop.or.us) and in the Clatsop County Courthouse.
Items without reported serial numbers often go unclaimed. It is important that you always report missing property and that you document serial numbers and photograph your property.
The Clatsop County Sheriff’s Office keeps found, unclaimed and/or seized property for the length of time required by Oregon Revised Statutes, while attempting to locate the owners. When all attempts fail, Clatsop County Sheriff's Office contracts with the online auction website GovDeals.com, which provides online auction services for law enforcement agencies throughout the United States. GovDeals.com is open to the public and you may bid on any item listed.
FOR ANY FURTHER QUESTIONS, PLEASE CALL (503) 325-8635. THANK YOU!