Birth & Death Certificates

Vital Records

Vital records and the statistics that can be
generated from them are an important tool
in determining the health of our community.
They also play an important role for each
person. Certified copies of vital records are
required to get social security benefits, a
driver’s license, passport, and other legal
documents.

Oregon law requires all vital events such as
births, and deaths be permanently recorded
and registered.

Ordering Certificates

Clatsop County Public Health can issue

certified copies of birth and death certificates for six (6) months after an event that happened in
Clatsop County. To order certificates for events that happened more than six (6) months ago or
outside of Clatsop County, contact State of Oregon Vital records.

Each birth or death certificate costs $25. Payment due at the time of service. If you have not
concluded your business with your mortuary you may be able to order additional copies through
them.

Call 503-325-8500 with questions

How to Order Death Certificates

To request a certified death certificate complete the Death Order Form in English or Spanish
and mail or bring in person to our office. Forms also available in our office upon request. No
appointment is needed. Orders are processed within 24 hours of receiving them.


https://www.clatsopcounty.gov/publichealth/page/birth-death-certificates
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors432.html
http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/BirthDeathCertificates/GetVitalRecords/pages/index.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/BIRTHDEATHCERTIFICATES/GETVITALRECORDS/Documents/deathor.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/BIRTHDEATHCERTIFICATES/GETVITALRECORDS/Documents/4513sd.pdf

Death records can be released to family members, legal representatives or to persons with a
valid legal reason.

When filling out and submitting a Death Certificate Order form you must have:

e Current picture ID (include photocopy of ID if mailing)
e Payment method of choice

e If you need a Short or a Long Death Certificate
e Full name of deceased (First, middle, Last)

e Date of death

e Place of death

e Spouse of decedent

e Your relationship to the deceased

e Reason for needing the record

e Daytime phone number

e Email address

e Name of person ordering record

Your address, city, state, zip

How to Order Birth Certificates

To request a certified copy of the original birth certificate complete the Birth Order Form in
English or Spanish and mail or bring in person to our office. Forms also available in our office
upon request. No appointment is needed. Orders are processed within 24 hours of receiving
them.

Birth records can be released to immediate family members (parents, grandparents,
brothers/sisters), or a legal representative.

When filling out and submitting a Death Certificate Order form you must have:

e Your address, city, state, zip

Current picture ID (include photocopy of ID if mailing)
Payment method of choice

If you need a Short or a Long Death Certificate

Full name of deceased (First, middle, Last)

Date of death

Place of death

Spouse of decedent

Your relationship to the deceased

Reason for needing the record


https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/BIRTHDEATHCERTIFICATES/GETVITALRECORDS/Documents/birthor.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/BIRTHDEATHCERTIFICATES/GETVITALRECORDS/Documents/4513s.pdf

Daytime phone number

Email address

Name of person ordering record
Your address, city, state, zip

Statistics

Oregon Morbidity and Mortality Rates


https://www.oregon.gov/oha/ph/BirthDeathCertificates/VitalStatistics/death/Pages/index.aspx

