Reopening - How Will It Work?

UPDATE - June 4: Gov. Brown Approves County's Phase 2 Reopening Request

Clatsop County has received approval to enter Phase 1 of Gov. Kate Brown's framework for reopening Oregon beginning May 15.

WHAT CAN OPEN?

Under the framework, the following businesses can reopen or expand operations:

- Restaurants and bars (sit-down dining)
- Personal services including barber shops, salons, spas and tattoo parlors
- Gyms & fitness-related organizations

Social gatherings of up to 25 people are also allowed.

The Governor has also announced that most retail shops across the state may also open, along with expanded childcare and summer camps.

IS IT BUSINESS AS USUAL?

Definitely not. The state has issued a series of guidelines spelling out how reopened businesses can operate while minimizing the chance of spreading COVID-19. They cover limits on numbers of customers, physical distancing, personal protective equipment (PPE), cleaning and other measures. See the full list of guidelines for particular businesses below.

WHAT'S PHASE 2 AND WHEN DOES IT START?

After 21 days from May 15, if Clatsop County is still meeting the state's requirements for controlling COVID-19 (including adequate hospital capacity, medical supplies and contact tracing), it may apply to move to Phase 2 of the reopening framework. Details of what will be included in Phase 2 are being developed by the state, but will likely include allowing larger social gatherings, and easing some of the guidelines on restaurants, salons and other businesses. Stay tuned for more details from the Governor's Office.

HOW ABOUT HOTELS and VACATION RENTALS?

UPDATE: May 22

The cities of Cannon Beach and Seaside have each rescinded their emergency orders restricting lodging effective Tuesday, May 26. Hotels, motels and short-term vacation rentals in these

towns will be able to operate at 100 percent capacity.

Clatsop County and the cities of Astoria, Gearhart and Warrenton have drawn up a joint plan for modifying restrictions on lodging business beginning June 5. Go here to read more about the plan.

NON-COMPLIANCE

If you believe a business or organization is not complying with COVID-19 guidelines, check the list of agencies below to see where to file a complaint.

Please DO NOT call 9-1-1 to report complaints. 9-1-1 is for emergencies only.

RESTAURANTS, POOLS, SEPTIC SYSTEMS:

Clatsop County Environmental Health - (503) 325-9302

GROCERY STORES:

Oregon Department of Agriculture - (503) 986-4720

HOTELS/MOTELS/SHORT-TERM LODGING:

Local law enforcement

OTHER WORKPLACE COMPLAINTS:

Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Administration - (800) 321-6742

REMEMBER...

Even as we begin the long reopening process, COVID-19 is still in our communities, and we still have people to protect. Limit discretionary travel and shopping, wear a mask in public when possible, wash your hands regularly, and do your best to say 6 feet away from others.

Stay healthy Clatsop County!

For any questions related to reopening or COVID-19 in general, call (503) 325-8500.

Supporting Documents

State Guidelines - Restaurants 310.18 KB

State Guidelines - Personal Services 185.21 KB

State Guidelines - Retail 140.55 KB

State Guidelines - Gyms & Fitness-Related Organizations 178.71 KB

State Guidelines - Childcare 211.72 KB

State Guidelines - Shopping Centers 134.09 KB

State Guidelines - Outdoor Recreation 146.62 KB

State Guidelines - Transit 144.31 KB

Employers General State Guidance 167.1 KB

Clatsop County Assessment and Plan 2.64 MB

Related Links

- Governor's Reopening Framework
- Oregon Health Authority COVID-19 Updates & Resources