
INFORMATION FOR THE CLATSOP COUNTY CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE (CHL) APPLICANT 
– READ CAREFULLY- 

 
LOCATION: Clatsop County Sheriff’s Office, 1190 SE 19th Street, Warrenton, (503) 325-8653 
 
APPLYING FOR CHL: New CHL, Renewal, and Transfer applications are accepted online. Appointments are part of the 
process and required for new CHL’s and transfers where documents will be reviewed, picture taken, and fingerprints 
captured. For renewals, once the application is processed, the applicant will be contacted to set an appointment for 
document verification, photographing, and permit issuance. The application can be found on the following website: 
https://www.co.clatsop.or.us/sheriff/page/concealed-handgun-license 
 
FEES (there will be an additional bank processing fee): 

• New CHL Oregon & Washington Resident: $115.00  

• Renewal: $75.00 

• Address Change/ Replacement: $15.00 

• Transfer from another Oregon county (expiration date will remain the same): $30.00 

• Transfer from another Oregon county in combination with a renewal: $90.00 
 
YOU WILL NEED TO UPLOAD THE FOLLOWING WHEN APPLYING ONLINE (and bring to your appointment): 

  Two valid pieces of ID, including Driver’s License   Proof of US Citizenship (Birth Cert. or Passport) 

  Proof of handgun safety course   Required Fees (Debit/Credit Card) 

 
IDENTIFICATION:   

Two (2) pieces of current identification are required, one of which must be a valid Oregon or Washington driver’s license 
or identification card. The secondary ID preferably will have your photo and can be military ID, student ID, employment 
ID, Costco card, etc. A Social Security Card or Birth Certificate does not meet the identification requirement.  
 
NOTE: Your permit will not be issued if you have not updated the Department of Motor Vehicles with your 
current residential address in Clatsop County or Pacific, Grays Harbor or Wahkiakum County in Washington 
State. We only issue to those three counties in Washington state. If your identification does not have your 
current address printed on it, use something that does (i.e. property tax statement, paystub, vehicle 
registration, etc.).   

 
PROOF OF US CITIZENSHIP: 

(If you fail to provide this documentation, your application will not be processed) 

For those applicants who were not born a United States Citizen, but have become a naturalized U.S. Citizen, you 
must submit proof of citizenship with your application or renewal (either a US Passport or your Naturalization papers).  If 
you include your Naturalization papers we will include a copy with your file.  Applicants who are born in a foreign 
country (parents were US citizens) need to provide either a State Department Birth Certificate or US passport. The 
following are acceptable as proof of your citizenship status: 

 

A valid US Passport Certificate of Citizenship 

FFS240 (Foreign Service Document) issued at birth Certification of Birth Abroad 

Original Naturalized Citizenship Certificate Certified copy of Record of Live Birth 

See statute for other less common proof Consular Report of Birth Abroad 

 
WASHINGTON STATE RESIDENTS: 

Pacific, Grays Harbor or Wahkiakum County Washington residents may apply for an Oregon CHL in Clatsop County.  In 
addition to other requirements outlined above, eligible Washington State residents must provide the following with their 
application:  A valid Washington Driver’s License or ID and a valid Washington Concealed Handgun License. 
 

 
 

https://www.co.clatsop.or.us/sheriff/page/concealed-handgun-license


HAND GUN COMPETENCY:  
New applicants must document compliance with ORS 166.291(f) by one of the methods provided by law as follows: 
 Oregon CHL on-line Course provided by Oregon State Sheriff’s Association at:  https://oregonchl.org/  
 Completion of a hunter safety course approved by the Department of Fish and Wildlife. 
 Completion of any N.R.A. firearms safety course. 
 Completion of any firearms safety course given by N.R.A. certified instructors. 
 Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety course. 
 Written evidence of experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition. 
 Written evidence of experience with a handgun through military service. 
 DD214 showing that you had an honorable discharge from the military and indicates that you are competent with a 

handgun, sidearm, or pistol. If your DD214 does not show this or shows “small arms”, we cannot accept it for 
competency even if you used a handgun while in the service. (Small arms are defined by the Department of 
Defense as weapons intended for use by individual members of armed or security forces. The definition includes 
not only handguns but rifles and carbines, sub-machine guns, assault rifles, and light machine guns.) 

 
ELIGIBILITY 

To qualify for a concealed handgun license you must: 
• Be a U.S. citizen. You may apply if you are not a U.S. citizen provided that you have lived in Clatsop County for at 

least six months and have written proof that you have declared your intent to become a citizen with the U.S. 
Citizenship and Immigration Service. 

• Be at least 21 years old. 
• Be a resident of Clatsop County (In WA: Pacific, Grays Harbor or Wahkiakum Counties). 
• Not have any outstanding warrants for your arrest. 
• Not be awaiting trial in a criminal matter or currently completing a diversion agreement. Minor traffic infractions such 

as speeding do not count as a criminal matter. Traffic crimes such as DUII are a criminal matter. 
• Never been convicted of a felony. 
• Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor within the last four years  
• If you were under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court for certain offenses, it must be more than four years since 

discharge. 
• Never have been convicted of a crime of domestic violence. 
• Not have been found to be mentally ill under ORS 426.130. 
• Not be subject to a stalking order or restraining order. 
• Not be an unlawful user of, or addicted to, a controlled substance. 
• Not have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions. 
• Not be required to register as a sex offender in any state. 
• You must show written proof of competence with a handgun as defined by statutes. 
• Pass a background check. 

ATTENTION:  Oregon law allows for the denial of a CHL if you have a history which shows a pattern or an 
inclination toward self-harm or confrontation with others, including neighbors, family members, etc.  You may 
also be denied a Concealed Handgun License if you have a history of conflict with law enforcement officers, 
offenses with firearms, or documented problems involving alcohol and/or drug abuse.  If any of these 
conditions apply to you and you nonetheless feel you are eligible for a license, return to this office appropriate 
documentation, dates and explanation of circumstances including copies of any applicable pardons, 
certificates of discharge, or court orders surrounding your circumstances for further consideration. 
 
CAUTION: POSSESSION OF AN OREGON CHL DOES NOT AUTHORIZE YOU TO CARRY A FIREARM IN ANY 
OTHER STATE AND IT DOES NOT AUTHORIZE YOU TO CARRY EVERYWHERE IN OREGON (SUCH AS ANY 
FEDERAL FACILITY, POSTED PRIVATE PROPERTY, NATIONAL PARKS, INDIAN RESERVATIONS, AND MANY 
PRIVATE BUSINESSES). THE LAWS CHANGE FREQUENTLY AND IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO VERIFY 
THE RESTRICTIONS SPECIFIC TO WHERE YOU PLAN TO BE.    

– DO YOUR RESEARCH AND KNOW BEFORE YOU GO! - 

https://oregonchl.org/

