Clatsop County Housing Study

Clatsop County, in partnership with the cities of Astoria, Cannon Beach, Gearhart, Seaside and Warrenton, has kicked off an ambitious project aimed at finding potential solutions to the region’s housing crisis.

The Comprehensive Housing Study will profile and analyze the current countywide housing supply, examine housing and demographic trends and develop projections, review existing plans and data and evaluate housing goals, policies and codes. The completed document will include proposals for initiatives that may encourage more production of needed housing types, as well as recommendations on building partnerships and capacity-building strategies.

Portland consulting firm Johnson Economics is leading the project, with assistance from a 20-member advisory panel that includes representatives from Clatsop County and the cities, Clatsop Economic Development Resources (CEDR), Northwest Oregon Housing Authority, Clatsop Community Action and the local construction industry.

The goal of the study is to help policy-makers and officials understand the type, size, location and price of housing needed to meet current and future needs, as well as market forces, regulations and local barriers that impact housing development.

The study – funded with $50,000 from the county and $10,000 each from the cities of Astoria, Cannon Beach, Gearhart, Seaside and Warrenton – is slated for completion in November 2018.

The project will include opportunities for public involvement, including an open house and an online survey. Meetings of the technical advisory committee will also be open to the public.

Check this website for up-to-date information on how you can add your voice to this project.

Technical Advisory Committee:
CHAIR – Henry Balensifer, Warrenton
VICE-CHAIR – Brandon Ogilvie, Cannon Beach
Cameron Moore, County Manager, Clatsop County
Gail Henrikson, Community Development Director, Clatsop County
Brett Estes, City Manager, Astoria
Mark Barnes, Planning Director, Cannon Beach
Seth Morrisey, Councilor, Seaside
Matt Brown, Mayor, Gearhart
Russ Taggart, Planning Commissioner, Gearhart
Kevin Leahy, CEDR
Todd Johnston, Northwest Oregon Housing Authority
Elaine Bruce, Clatsop Community Action
Patrick Wingard, Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development
Gil Gramson